Kintore Way Children's Centre

Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development from age 0-5 years. At Kintore Way we use this framework to plan a wide range of activities based on the children’s own interests.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

Personal, social and emotional development

Communication and language

Physical development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design

For more information about the EYFS download our[ EYFS Parents Guide (PDF)](/perch/resources/eyfsparentsguide.pdf), or visit the [government’s EYFS website](—2 “—2”)